Wednesday, October 1, 2008

What is Tetralogy of Fallot?

Tetralogy of Fallot is a congenital heart disease that consist of 4 defects in the right side of the heart. Here is a picture of a Madisons heart...

Tetralogy of fallot heart...(in simple terms)

1-Thinning of the pulmonary valve, which pumps blood to the lungs

2-enlarged right side of the heart

3-Over riding aorta (which mixes the bloods)

4-VSD (hole)

To repair this they have to fix #1 (by opening up the valve) and #4 (by patching the hole) and this will fix #2 and #3.

No comments: